Italy 607 Tour: Frank’s Restaurant

Frank's

Before embarking on the Italy 607 Tour, I had never heard of Frank’s Restaurant. It is located at 2633 Route 26 in Maine, NY — about a 15 minute drive outside of Binghamton. Now I’m always up for an adventure, and I’m always up for good food, so Frank’s was a place I was excited to hit up. Plus, it had the added bonus of being a brand new experience for me, so I could really judge it objectively and effectively.

I think we drove right past the restaurant the first time, but found it quickly afterwards and took a parking spot in the back. The lot is gravel, so don’t go dressed in sky-high heels and take care to ensure that Grandma and Grandpa have their footing. The restaurant is charming and cute, and the inside was spacious. An added bonus is they even have a beautiful patio (you know I love a good patio +++) out back.

Alright, now for the nitty-gritty:

From my review on Yelp.com

“Franks was our first stop on the Italy 607 and at first it seemed like it wasn’t going to do very well. Upon being seated we waited nearly fifteen minutes before a server even came over to our table, and there was only one other group in the restaurant. We even had to go up and ask for service, it seemed really unacceptable. The waitress apologized for the miscommunication and we ordered our appetizers. The tomato and mozzarella salad was amazing! Huge portion and the oil and vinegar was great. Our bruschetta came next, and it was served very similar to restaurants in Italy (a+) with great presentation. She brought our garlic bread (crisp yet delicious) next, and then shortly after our entrees came. The pesto was amazing which is an a++ considering we ordered it as a substitution and there are hardly any other restaurants in Binghamton that serve pesto. My gnocchi Alfredo didn’t look that appetizing but it was really good! You could tell the gnocchi was homemade as it was sliced into little pieces. Then our waitress informed us that the owner would like to give us a free dessert for our wait in the beginning which was really nice and definitely helped us to forgive that little mishap. We ordered the berry mascarpone and it was seriously amazing! Tasted like a blueberry muffin with cream filling. We rated this place highly because the food was superb and after we were finally attended to, the service was pretty great! 85/100”

IMG_0391

So there you have it, Binghamton! Review #1, and I can tell the competition is going to be fierce! Anyway, I would LOVE to hear about any experiences you have had at Frank’s Restaurant, good or bad, by leaving it in the comments section below. You can also vote for Frank’s Restaurant as the best Italian food in the 607 by visiting my VOTE tab above!

Until next time….

staceysig

4 Comments

Filed under Restaurant Reviews, Stacey Kay

4 responses to “Italy 607 Tour: Frank’s Restaurant

  1. Never heard of it maybe I’ll try it sometime when I visit.

  2. Jennifer L.

    My family still lives in Maine, and my parents go to Frank’s all the time! The food is terrific–the gnocchi with vodka sauce is amazing, and what I get every time I’m home. I’m sorry you had such lousy service; that hasn’t happened to us before, and I hope it doesn’t discourage you from coming back!

Leave a Reply

