Day One Recap: No-Sugar Low-Carb Diet

IMG_1139

I decided to try out a no-sugar low-carb diet this week to see how it would affect my energy levels and my weight loss. Since August, I have lost 18 lbs, but my goal is to lose 10 more. My weight loss started stalling out about 3 weeks ago, and since then I’ve only been able to fluctuate and maintain. I think this is probably due to a variety of reasons, the biggest ones being that A) I’m getting bored with my current routine and so while I have been staying within my allowed caloric range, the foods that I’m eating haven’t been the healthiest and B) I weigh less now so the exercise I’m doing burns fewer calories.

I needed something new to get excited about, and a friend of mine suggested that I try this because he lost a lot of weight on it (11 lbs in 1 week) and was able to keep it off. The diet is basically the South Beach Diet Phase 1, so I went to this website to get a list of approved foods to eat. You can basically have any vegetable, any lean meat, and low-fat dairy such as a nonfat plain Greek yogurt and reduced fat cheese.

Here’s what I ate yesterday:

Breakfast: plain nonfat Greek yogurt and black coffee

Lunch: tilapia with onions and peppers cooked with olive oil and balsamic vinegar and edamame

Snack: Jalapeno peppers stuffed with cream cheese and pimento olives and cashews

Dinner: Cauliflower and Ham Au Gratin Casserole (THIS IS AMAZING, go here for the recipe!)

I felt really great for most of the day. I had a lot more energy and I didn’t feel that familiar “head in the fog” feeling that I’d been experiencing for the past couple of weeks. I think I feel better because I’m eating more calories (about 250 more per day), and also eating more protein. After dinner though, I got a serious sugar craving. (I usually eat sweets only right before bed.) I seriously couldn’t stop thinking about pumpkin croissants, chocolate chip cookies, candy, etc. It made me pretty irritable.

Result After Day 1: – 1 lb

staceysig

1 Comment

Filed under Diet & Exercise, Stacey Kay

One response to “Day One Recap: No-Sugar Low-Carb Diet

  1. Pingback: Day Three Recap: No-Sugar Low-Carb Diet | The Binghamton Blog

Leave a Reply

