Day Seven Recap: No-Sugar Low-Carb Diet

IMG_1219

Finally! Day Seven was the final day of my no-sugar low-carb diet, so to celebrate I prepared some flourless, sugarless peanut butter cookies for dinner! My personal plan included staying away from artificial sweeteners as well as regular sugar, but Phase 1 of the South Beach diet does technically permit it. In fact, there are a few sugar-free dessert options on their approved food list. I chose to stay away from those options for the duration of the week, but figured I earned a little Splenda by Day 7.

So without further delay, here is my recipe for flourless sugarless peanut butter cookies:

  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup Splenda (granulated)
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 cup crunchy all-natural peanut butter
  • 1 tsp. water
  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Mix egg, splenda, baking powder and vanilla extract in a medium bowl.
  3. Add peanut butter and water to mixture and stir until fully mixed.
  4. Spoon a heaping tablespoon onto a non-stick baking sheet. My batch made about 9 cookies.
  5. Bake for 15 minutes.

IMG_1217

So there you have it! I absolutely LOVED this recipe and thought these were so delicious. They are also very filling. I don’t think I’ll ever go back to making peanut butter cookies the traditional way. While I’m aware of the research that indicates artificial sweeteners are worse for you than regular sugar, I think a treat like this is necessary every once in a while when you’re dieting so that you don’t end up feeling so deprived. With these as my secret weapon, I’m certain I could have continued Phase 1 for another week. I think moderation is definitely key.

Okay so here’s what I ate on my final day:

Breakfast: 2 hard boiled eggs, black coffee, and some women’s multivitamins

Lunch: Baked Swordfish and a spinach salad with oil and vinegar dressing

Snack: Flourless Sugarless Peanut Butter Cookies and Seasoned Cashews

Dinner: Turkey, Kale and Avocado Wraps with Balsamic Vinegar

Offical Result after 7 Days: – 4.5 lbs

So what are my thoughts on the diet as a whole? I actually really liked it. Yes, it was definitely a challenge at times but I think when we’re trying to lose weight we have to force ourselves outside of our comfort zone. I think it would particularly challenging for someone who was going cold turkey from “regular eating” to this, but I also think the rewards would be worth it. For me, it was the “end date” that kept me motivated some of the time, but also the extreme weight loss results. Like I said earlier, I had been plateauing for about 3 weeks on my low calorie diet, and so these results were really awesome for me. I’m now just 6 lbs away from my goal we ight.

Going forward, I plan to use a lot of what I learned from this. I learned a lot of great recipes and strategies for eliminating sugar and carbs from my diet. I LOVED the mock lasagna and the cauliflower and ham casserole bake. The baked parmesan tomatoes and zucchini pizza bites were also a major hit with me, and I will continue to make these recipes in my everyday life. The best part about this diet is that while you are restricting certain foods, you’re not necessarily restricting the amounts, so I never went hungry like I did on my low calorie diet.

To lose the last 6 lbs, I plan on going strictly low-carb, keeping my carbs between 50-100 per day and exercising daily with an emphasis on weight lifting. That is, after tonight, because tonight I’m celebrating the end of this diet by going to Mad Moose for some woodfire pizza!

staceysig

Leave a comment

Filed under Diet & Exercise, Stacey Kay

Leave a Reply

