Recipe: Healthy Pumpkin Spice Breakfast Bars

IMG_1333

After making my own version of a sugarless, flourless peanut butter cookie, I got thinking about other things that I could bake myself to make them healthier. One thing I really enjoy having for breakfast is a granola bar, but it’s hard to find a bar that isn’t loaded with high fructose corn syrup as the first ingredient. I started fishing around for ideas online and stumbled on one for a Pumpkin Spice Granola Bar, and then altered it to fit my dietary restrictions. So here it is!

Ingredients:

1 cup whole wheat flour

2 cups quick oats

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 cup raisins

1/4 cup walnuts

1 tablespoon cinnamon

1 tablespoon vanilla

1 cup canned pumpkin

1/4 cup egg beaters

1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt

1/2 cup Splenda

In a large bowl, mix together dry ingredients. Once thoroughly mixed, add egg, yogurt, then pumpkin. Grease a glass casserole pan and pour mixture in. You will need to pack it down using your hand or a spoon. Bake for 15-20 minutes at 350 degrees.

Cut into 12 even rectangles. Each piece has 137 calories.

IMG_1331

I baked mine for 19 minutes and they were perfectly chewy. They’re definitely not sweet like a cake or a cookie, but they have the perfect amount of flavor for breakfast. If you want to make them sweeter, I suggest adding 1/2 cup regular brown sugar, and maybe mixing in some white chocolate chunks. You could also trade the walnuts for almonds, or trade the raisins for craisins!

staceysig

9 Comments

Filed under Diet & Exercise, Recipes, Stacey Kay

9 responses to “Recipe: Healthy Pumpkin Spice Breakfast Bars

  1. This looks wonderful – I’m a big pumpkin fan at the moment and might just try this! Thanks for sharing xx – ayoungfoodie.wordpress.com

  2. Nice! I will have to try this. – Adirondackjoe.wordpress.com

  3. Do you think I could substitute the Splenda with sugar free maple syrup?

  4. I can’t wait to try it this weekend – it looks positively yummy! Just have to figure out what Splenda is still because its not something I’ve ever seen in our shops… but Google is my best friend so the sod better help me!

    • Oh it’s just a no calorie sweetener that we have in the states. There’s probably something similar you can use but if not, I had a friend sub with maple syrup or you could use a little bit of honey, or skip it altogether.

Leave a Reply

