Journey to Half Marathon

Hey guys! It’s been almost two years since I’ve posted on here and a lot has changed! I moved down to Houston to start my dream career (fashion) and life has been really great. 

I don’t really do “resolutions” but I do set goals for myself. My goal last year was to get promoted, and I’m happy to report that it happened! But, working so much really took a toll on my health and fitness routines. Now that I’m officially in my new position and can focus on personal goals more, I want to pick up where I started 2 years ago when I signed up for the Binghamton Bridge Run Half Marathon. In 2016, I want to complete my first half marathon.

I’ve already been training for over a month and have worked myself up to 5 mile runs. Houston is the WORST place to run outside (heat, traffic, no good scenery) so I train primarily on a treadmill while watching TV shows on my phone. I guess I got really spoiled when I lived in Binghamton because the parks and scenery were so beautiful for training outside, but I’m making it work in my new home the best way I can. 

Next weekend, I am signed up for the Women’s Quarter Marathon in Katy, Texas. 6.55 miles shouldn’t be too hard since I’ve been running consistent 4-5 mile runs 3x per week. Can’t wait to participate and get that much closer to my training goal. 

I am watching my food+exercise routine really closely on MyFitnessPal. If you want to be friends on there my username is “sthoma13”. 

I will hopefully post some pics of me post quarter marathon next weekend! But in the meantime, here is me looking DRaINED after pushing my pace in my 5 mile run yesterday. 

   
 

1 Comment

Filed under Diet & Exercise, Uncategorized

One response to “Journey to Half Marathon

  1. Nice work Stacey! You know I cannot agree more that Binghamton is a great place to run. Some great changes coming to the area as a whole but even more to the running community here as well. Congratulations on your success and promotion, Cheers!

Leave a Reply

